January 15-21, 2018

Outside the Box – San Francisco Bay Area

Dates

Mon , Jan 16, 2017 — Sun , Jan 22, 2017

Type

Exhibitions

Disciplines

Ceramics, Industrial Design, Jewellery Design

Neighbourhood

West

Daily Hours

MonMonday

4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

TueTuesday

4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

WedWednesday

4:00 pm - 7:00 pm

ThuThursday

4:00 pm - 8:00 pm

FriFriday

4:00 pm - 8:00 pm

SatSaturday

12:00 pm - 8:00 pm

SunSunday

12:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Location

Gladstone Hotel Art Hut

1181 Queen Street West
Toronto ON
M6J 1J4

Reception

Private Membership Event: Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 4-5pm
Public Reception: Sat, Jan 21, 2017, 5-8pm

Admission

Free

Description

‘Outside the Box’ builds a map of design in North America.

This third annual travelling exhibition features the work of over 70 designers from 11 cities across Canada and the U.S. Curated by local correspondents, each Bankers box houses a collection of thoughtfully designed objects, reflecting the particular resources and makers of that area.

San Francisco Bay Area

San Francisco is a multi-layered city that celebrates its inhabitants differences and diverse backgrounds. Our designers chose to explore unique materials and ways of creating objects through the use of varied craftsmanship and technology. There is a dichotomy at play in this city that is an undercurrent in design, the push and pull of our natural surroundings and our engagement with technology. As designers we have embraced these opposing influences to create work that is as multifaceted as our habitat.

Correspondent: Melanie Abrantes

Adrian Clutario | www.adrianclutario.com
Alice Tacheny | www.alicetacheny.com
Fire Road | www.fireroad.us
Hannah Quinn | www.hannahbeatricequinn.com
Heather Palmer | www.heatherheather.com
Materials + Process | www.materialsandprocess.com
Melanie Abrantes | www.melanieabrantes.com
Most Modest | www.mostmodest.com
Silvia Song | www.silviasong.com

This year, ‘Outside the Box’ presents showcases from 6 Canadian and 5 U.S. cities: Asheville (North Carolina), Detroit, Edmonton, Halifax, Los Angeles, Medicine Hat (Alberta), Montreal, New York, San Francisco Bay Area, Toronto, and Vancouver.

‘Outside the Box’ was created by the Toronto Design Offsite Festival, and is organized every year in partnership with WantedDesign.

Edition 05 funding provided by the City of Toronto.

 

adrian-clutario

fireroad

heatherpalmer

materialsprocess

melanieabrantes

mostmodest

silviasong

hannahquinn

alicetacheny

logo_city-of-toronto

Did you love the Festival? Want to get exclusive discounts at local shops and galleries? Become a TO DO Member Today!Learn More