January 15-21, 2018

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Outside the Box – Chicago

Dates

Mon, Jan 18, 2016 —

Sun, Jan 24, 2016

Type

Exhibitions


Admission

Free

Reception

Sat, Jan 23, 2016 | 5-7pm


Daily Hours

MonMonday

11:00AM-7:00PM

TueTuesday

11:00AM-7:00PM

WedWednesday

11:00AM-7:00PM

ThuThursday

11:00AM-9:00PM

FriFriday

11:00AM-7:00PM

SatSaturday

10:00AM-6:00PM

SunSunday

12:00PM-5:00PM

Description

Outside the Box – Chicago
ChicagoLand

Chicagoland is an ongoing exhibition of contemporary design work—created and executed in Chicago—in collaboration with local manufacturers. The show aims to showcase the best cross section of upcoming American designers in the midwest region. Chicago is a contemporary design hub defined by strong relationships that are built between designers and local manufacturing. By utilizing the rich knowledge of fabrication techniques within arms reach, Chicagoland designers are able to realize their metal, wood, glass and plastic design work with the highest quality materials and craftsmanship.

Chicago correspondent: Ben Stagl

Designers:

Designers: Steven Haulenbeek Designs | www.stevenhaulenbeek.com
Stephanie Plenner | www.stephanieplenner.com
Traceware by Allison Rokusek | www.allisonrokusek.com
ChiLab Design Studios Bo Rodda with Ben Stagl | www.chilabdesign.com
Mallika Chandra | www.mallikachandra.com
Erika Uzmann Design | www.erikauzmann.com
Yasmine Afshar | www.yasmineafshar.com
Shipped across the country in Bankers boxes, the Toronto Design Offsite Festival & WantedDesign unpack, install, and present nine distinct national and international showcases in the third edition of ‘Outside the Box.’ Working with local correspondents, the contents of each box includes original works from local designers, reflecting the particular resources and makers of each area, and featuring responses to the theme “multiple.”

Funding provided by the Government of Ontario.

Outside the Box – Chicago
Outside the Box – Edmonton
Outside the Box – Halifax
Outside the Box – Los Angeles
Outside the Box – Montreal
Outside the Box – New York
Outside the Box – Ottawa
Outside the Box – Portland
Outside the Box – Seattle

2016-OTB-Chicago-07-web-layout

2016-OTB-Chicago-06-web-parameticsoundtray_ChinHuaLin

Chin Hua Lin

2016-OTB-Chicago-04-web

2016-OTB-Chicago-01-web

2016-OTB-Chicago-02-web 2016-OTB-Chicago-03-web

Get the Toronto Design Offsite Festival logo for your website!

2018
Love the Festival? Want to get a free Festival Party Ticket and exclusive discounts at local shops and galleries? Learn More