January 16-22, 2017

Outside the Box – Los Angeles

Dates

Mon , Jan 18, 2016 — Sun , Jan 24, 2016

Type

Exhibitions

Disciplines

Industrial Design, Installation

Neighbourhood

West

Daily Hours

MonMonday

11:00AM-7:00PM

TueTuesday

11:00AM-7:00PM

WedWednesday

11:00AM-7:00PM

ThuThursday

11:00AM-9:00PM

FriFriday

11:00AM-7:00PM

SatSaturday

10:00AM-6:00PM

SunSunday

12:00PM-5:00PM

Reception

Sat, Jan 23, 2016 | 5-7pm

Admission

Free

Description

Outside the Box – Los Angeles

Los Angeles is home to a thriving creative community that is actively producing work rooted in nature with a nod to mid-century architecture and design. These Los Angeles-area designers, artists and makers are keeping material front and center, working in wood, iron, brass and concrete. In designing multiples, they’ve also managed to show a range of materials, exacting craftsmanship or evidence of the handmade and a variation on function … or playfulness!

Los Angeles correspondent: Erin Brown | www.eb-la.co

Designers:
Scout Regalia | @scoutregalia | www.scoutregalia.com
Monroe Workshop | @monroeworkshop | www.monroeworkshop.com
Ramsey Conder | @ramseyconder | www.ramseyconder.com
Kalon Studios | @kalonstudios | www.kalonstudios.com
Concrete Geometric | @concretegeometric | www.concretegeometric.com
Wolfum | @wolfum | www.wolfum.com
100xbetter | @100xbtr | www.100xbetter.com
House Industries | @houseindustries | www.houseind.com
Post is Post | @post_studio | www.postispost.com
Sasha Ritter | @sasharitter | www.sasharitter.com

Shipped across the country in Bankers boxes, the Toronto Design Offsite Festival & WantedDesign unpack, install, and present nine distinct national and international showcases in the third edition of ‘Outside the Box.’ Working with local correspondents, the contents of each box includes original works from local designers, reflecting the particular resources and makers of each area, and featuring responses to the theme “multiple.”

Funding provided by the Government of Ontario.

Outside the Box – Chicago
Outside the Box – Edmonton
Outside the Box – Halifax
Outside the Box – Los Angeles
Outside the Box – Montreal
Outside the Box – New York
Outside the Box – Ottawa
Outside the Box – Portland
Outside the Box – Seattle

2016-OTB-LosAngeles-08-web 2016-OTB-LosAngeles-02-web 2016-OTB-LosAngeles-03-web 2016-OTB-LosAngeles-04-web 2016-OTB-LosAngeles-05-web 2016-OTB-LosAngeles-06-web 2016-OTB-LosAngeles-07-web

Did you love the Festival? Want to get exclusive discounts at local shops and galleries? Become a TO DO Member Today!Learn More